Saturday, January 2, 2010


Adele - 19 (2008)
1. Daydreamer
2. Best For Last
3. Chasing Pavements
4. Cold Shoulder
5. Crazy For You
6. Melt My Heart To Stone
7. First Love
8. Right As Rain
9. Make You Feel My Love
10. My Same
11. Tired
12. Hometown Glory


19 is Adele's debut album. It was released on 28 January 2008, the week after the lead single, "Chasing Pavements", was physically released. It debuted at number one on the UK charts on its first week.[1] Included is a cover of the Bob Dylan song "Make You Feel My Love" from his 1997 album, Time Out Of Mind.

The album was nominated for the 2008 Mercury Prize in the category of Best Album.[2]. On December 3, 2008, the album spawned four Grammy Award nominations: Best New Artist, and Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance for "Chasing Pavements".[3]

The Taiwanese edition was released on March 5. As well as the standard tracklist, the album features three bonus tracks: "That's It I Quit I'm Movin' On" ("Chasing Pavements" B-side), "Now and Then" ("Cold Shoulder" B-side) and "Painting Pictures" ("Make You Feel My Love" B-side).[4] The Indonesian special edition was released on March 3. As well as the standard tracklist, the album features a bonus video for "Chasing Pavements".[5]

The song "Hometown Glory" has been featured in the British and American television shows Skins, Grey's Anatomy, One Tree Hill, Hollyoaks, Secret Diary of a Call Girl, and most recently danced by Katee Shean and eventual winner, Joshua Allen on So You Think You Can Dance. Adele recently joked in an interview with GMTV that the album was named "19" after her weight in stone, but in fact she weighs 23 stone.

In the U.S 19 debuted at #56 and remained in the lower ends of the Billboard 200 for many proceeding weeks. After a performance on the U.S show "Saturday Night Live" it rose to #46 and a week later to #11 with sales of 25,000+ copies sold. In 2009, after winning 2 Grammy Awards, the album rose to a new peak of #10 on the Billboard 200 and total sales reached 708,191, the album is now certified Gold by the RIAA.[6]

In the Netherlands the album is currently still in the top 20 after already spending 92 weeks in the charts. With sales over 200,000 copies makes the album one of the best selling albums in the Netherlands of 2008 and 2009

Adele Laurie Blue Adkins (born 5 May 1988 in West Norwood, South London), known professionally as Adele (pronounced /әˈdɛl/[1]), is a British singer. Adele has described her musical style as "heartbroken soul."[2] She is the first recipient of the BRIT Awards Critics' Choice, which was given to artists who, at the time, had yet to release an album.

Adele debuted at number one with her Mercury Prize-nominated debut album 19 on the UK album chart; the album has since been certified platinum with sales of more than 500,000 copies in the UK and over 2.2 million worldwide.[3] After the album peaked at number fifty-four on the Billboard 200 chart on 8 July 2008 (and number thirty-six on the magazine's "Top Heatseekers" chart)[4] Adele performed before 17 million television viewers on Saturday Night Live, propelling her album from number forty-six to number eleven on the official chart.

In 2009, Adele won two Grammy Awards, Best New Artist and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance for the single "Chasing Pavements". The week after the Grammy Awards aired, the album finally peaked at number ten on the Billboard 200.[5] Meanwhile, her single "Chasing Pavements" reached number twenty one on the Billboard Hot 100.[6]

British Prime Minister Gordon Brown sent a thank you letter to Adele that stated "With the troubles that the country's in financially, you're a light at the end of the tunnel

Adele performing in 2008.
Background information
Birth name Adele Laurie Blue Adkins
Born 5 May 1988 (1988-05-05) (age 21)
Origin Tottenham, London, England, United Kingdom
Genres Pop, soul, jazz, blues, folk
Occupations Singer, songwriter
Years active 2006-present
Labels XL Recordings/Columbia


Post a Comment