Wednesday, January 13, 2010

The Heart Throbs Blood From A Stone

The Heart Throbs: Blood From A Stone 7"


Non-album single from early years of The Heart Throbs.

1. Blood From A Stone
2. Cry Fast Cry Hard


The Heart Throbs were an indie-rock band from Reading, UK. Based around twin sisters Rose and Rachel (sisters of Echo & the Bunnymen drummer Pete DeFreitas), the initial lineup was:

* Rose Carlotti – Lead vocals/Guitar
* Rachel DeFreitas – Bass/Backing vocals
* Mark Slide – Drums
* Stephen Ward – Guitar

The Heart Throbs
Origin Reading, England
Genres Alternative rock
Years active 1987–1993
Labels Rough Trade
One Little Indian
Associated acts Angora/Tom Patrol
Former members
Rose Carlotti
Rachel DeFreitas
Mark Side
Stephen Ward
Alan Barclay
Steve Monti
Colleen Browne
Steve Beswick
The Heart Throbs formed in early 1987, and reached their height in the early 1990s. They helped create a new scene of female-fronted, melodic, swirly guitar-based indie music, often (as in their case) with deep or dark lyrics. Several of the poppier of these bands were lumped into a 'blonde pop' label. Similar UK female fronted groups of this era include Lush, The Darling Buds, Transvision Vamp and The Primitives.

After releasing a series of singles on Rough Trade and their own label, Profumo (a reference to John Profumo), The Heart Throbs were signed by the UK record label One Little Indian Records. Guitarist Alan Barclay joined at this time, allowing original guitarist Ward to move to keyboards. Their first album, Cleopatra Grip, was distributed in the US by Elektra Records, after which they were signed by A&M Records, who released Jubilee Twist in the US. After disappointing sales, however, A&M elected not to distribute their third and final album, Vertical Smile. All three albums were named for euphemisms for female genitalia.

The Heart Throbs single "Dreamtime" reached a peak position of number 2 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks in 1990, and their single "She's In A Trance" reached number 21 in the same year.

Following the Cleopatra Grip tour, the rhythm section left the band, and were replaced by Noko (ex-Luxuria) on bass and Steve Monti (ex-Blockheads) on drums. By the third album, the band had switched to a third rhythm section of Colleen Browne, who later joined the Pale Saints, on bass and Steve Beswick on drums.

After The Heart Throbs split up in 1993, Rose Carlotti and Steve Beswick formed the group Angora, who then changed their name to Tom Patrol before eventually disbanding.
Singles & EPs (with tracklisting)

* "Toy" (1987, In Tape) Toy, Make My Day, I The Jury
* "Bang" (1988, Rough Trade) Bang, Sick At Heart, Naked Bang
* "Too Many Shadows" (1988, Rough Trade) Too Many Shadows, I See Danger, Things That Linger
* "Here I Hide" (1988, Profumo) Here I Hide, Pale Fire, Come
* "Blood From A Stone" (1989, Profumo) Blood From A Stone, Cry Hard Cry Fast, Smothered
* I Wonder Why (1990, One Little Indian) I Wonder Why, Big Commotion, Clear As A Bell, Pale Fire,
* "Dreamtime" (1990, One Little Indian) Dreamtime, This Man, Dreamtime (Mix), I See Danger
* Total Abandon EP (1991, One Little Indian) Turn Away (edit), Pumping (My Heart), Bright Green Day, Turn Away
* Spongy Thing EP (1992, One Little Indian) Hooligan, So Far, Laughing & Falling, Kiss Me When I'm Starving (Mastodon Mix)
* She's In A Trance-Mutations EP (1992, One Little Indian) She's In A Trance (Extended Remix), Kiss Me When I'm Starving (Remix), ArcadiaToss, Dreamtime (Hamnett Toad Remix)
* "She's In A Trance" (1992, One Little Indian) She's In A Trance, The Girl Became The Stairs (Barefoot), In Vain (Barefoot), She's In Trance (Remix)
* Worser (1993, One Little Indian) Worser, Avalanche, We Connect, Visionary Song


  • Cleopatra Grip (1990, One Little Indian/Elektra)
  • Jubilee Twist (1992, One Little Indian/A&M)
  • Vertical Smile (1993, One Little Indian)


Anonymous said...

At most testing to see if your annotation fuctinon works, supply doesnt!

Post a Comment