Tuesday, February 16, 2010


Nelson is a glam metal band founded by Matthew and Gunnar Nelson (the twin sons of Ricky Nelson.) They had a No. 1 hit in the United States with "(Can't Live Without Your) Love and Affection" during the week of September 29, 1990. They are listed in the Guinness Book of World Records as the only family to reach number one record status in three successive generations (beginning with grandparents Ozzie and Harriet Nelson). The band split with Geffen Records record label after 1995, but they have continued to produce and release albums independently under their label, Stone Canyon Records. However, they have yet to revisit the level of success they experienced during their 1990 debut.

Raised in a musical family, Matthew and Gunnar Nelson were always involved in music. In the early 1980s, they joined a band called Strange Agents. Later that decade, they put together their own band and got a recording contract with Geffen Records. Their debut album, 1990's After the Rain, was a success, and the band went on tour to support it. The album produced the No. 1 hit "(Can't Live Without Your) Love and Affection."

* * * * * * * * * *
Nelson - After The rain (1990)

Listen Online or Click the song for download:
01. Love And Affection
I Can Hardly Wait

After The Rain
Tracy's Song / Time Will Tell
More Than Ever
It's Just Desire
Fill you up
Interlude / Everywhere I Go
Bits And Pieces
Will you Love Me
Love And Affection (Acoustic) Bonus

* * * * * * * * * *

Nelson - Because They can (1995)

Listen Online or Click the song for download:
01 You got Me all Shook Up
02 The Great Escape
03 Five O Clock Plane
04 Cross my Broken Heart
05 Peace On Earth
06 Remi
07 Won't Walk Away
08 Only a Moment Away
09 Joshua is With Me Now
10 Love me Today
11 Be Still
12 Right Before Your Eyes
13 Nobody wins in the End

* * * * * * * * * *

Nelson - Imaginator (1996)

Listen Online or Click the song for download:
01 On / Off
02 Sinners Inc.
03 Do you Believe in Religion?
04 Kiss me When I Cry
05 I Don't Mess Around Boy
06 Sooner or Later
07 We Always Want What we Can't Get
08 It's your Body
09 She Gets Down
10 Tell Me
11 Greed
12 Action
13 Ain't Nothin' Really Changed
14 We're Alright
15 The Judas Mirror
16 In a Perfect World
17 Imaginator

* * * * * * * * * *

Nelson - The Silence Is Broken (1997)

Listen Online or Click the song for download:
01 Ghostdance
02 Say It Isn't So
03 Why Oh Why
04 You talk Too Much
05 Sunset Strip
06 What About Me
07 The Silence Is Broken
08 L.O.V.E. me Not
09 Running Out of Time
10 Tears Of Pain
11 Love me Today PartII

* * * * * * * * * *

Other Albums: post soon!

Nelson - Brother Harmony (1998)
Nelson - Life (1999)
Nelson - Like Father, Like Sons (2000)

Nelson - 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Nelson (Geffen 2004)

The band formed in 1984 in Sacramento as City Kidd, and was renamed Tesla during the recording of their first album, 1986's Mechanical Resonance, on the advice of their manager that City Kidd was not a great name (in addition, there was already another band going by that name). The band derived their name, certain album and song titles, and some song content from events relating to Nikola Tesla, an inventor and electrical engineer born in the 19th century.

The band's original lineup consisted of lead vocalist Jeff Keith, guitarists Frank Hannon and Tommy Skeoch, bassist Brian Wheat, and drummer Troy Luccketta.

Tesla's music is often referred to as heavy metal, but is better described as blues metal. The band's lyrics also strayed from the themes popular in heavy metal, particularly in the 1980s at the beginning of their career. A further distinction from their contemporaries was their T-shirt-and-jeans image which was in strong contrast to Glam Metal bands of the time, which were characterized by big hair, leather pants, and flashy makeup. Also in the early days of their career, Tesla toured with David Lee Roth, Def Leppard, and Poison which incorrectly resulted in the band being categorized as a Glam metal band. The band's members resented this labelling. Tesla has always been proud of the fact that their music has always been just guitars and drums, with an occasional piano from guitarist Hannon and/or bassist Wheat and occasional organ from Hannon, with no synthesizers or anything to distort their sound. Their albums always proudly proclaimed, "No Machines", referring to that fact. The band's 2004 album, Into the Now, appears to include synthesized beats. but in fact does not. Drummer Troy Luccketta cleverly designed his drum set to make it sound like synthesized beats, as seen on the Cuminatcha live 2008 DVD section on Troy's gear.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Post a Comment